25 Microsoft Word Tips and Tricks

Twenty-five Word features that save time every day: shortcuts for dates and case, quick tables and lines, numbers to words, page-by-page orientation, and more. Each tip has a picture or animation.

Tips25
Works inWord 2016 and later, Microsoft 365
VideoIncluded

Video

1. Insert Date and Time

Alt + Shift + D is the shortcut for inserting Current Date into a word document.

Similarly, Current Time can be inserted into a document using the shortcut, Alt + Shift + T.

Insert Date and Time in Microsoft Word

Note that these fields are all dynamic, So, when I open this document on a later date, these fields for Date and Time will update automatically.

You can also insert the Current Date and Time using the Insert Date and Time option in the Insert tab of the ribbon.

Insert Date and Time in Microsoft Word

2. Insert Serial Numbers

Following is how we can add Automatically updating Serial Numbers to the column of a Table

Select the cells of the column where you want to insert the serial numbers > in the Home tab > Numbering > Select 1,2,3 from the Numbering Library.

Insert Serial Numbers in Microsoft Word

These serial numbers are dynamic and will update whenever we add or delete Rows.

Insert Serial Numbers in Microsoft Word

3. Change Letter Cases

Select the text and press Shift + F3 to cycle through lowercase, UPPERCASE and Capitalize Each Word.

Change Letter Cases in Microsoft Word

4. Insert Table

To insert a Table, go to the Insert tab of the ribbon > Table > select the cell corresponding to the Rows and Columns required in the Table. If you want 4 columns and 5 Rows, select the cell in the 4th column of 5th Row.

Insert Table in Microsoft Word

Another method to create Table is using + (plus) and – (minus) signs.

Type in +—-+—-+—–+ and press the Enter key to create a table with 3 columns.

Insert Table in Microsoft Word

The number of – (minus) signs in between the + (plus) signs determine the width of the columns.

5. Insert Separator

To insert a single line separator between two paragraphs, type in the – (hyphen) 3 times and press the Enter key.

=== (equal sign) for double line

### (pound sign) for triple line

*** (Asterisk) for dotted line

Insert Separator in Microsoft Word

6. Sort Text, Number & Dates

To the sort a list of names in their reverse Alphabetical order > select the data > in the Home tab > click on Sort > select Descending and click OK

Sort Text, Number & Dates in Microsoft Word

7. Uses of Ctrl Key

Press Ctrl + Right arrow to jump to the next word, Ctrl + Left arrow to jump to the previous word.

Uses of Ctrl Key in Microsoft Word

Ctrl + Shift +Right arrow to add one word at a time to the selection, Ctrl + Backspace to delete a word each.

Uses of Ctrl Key in Microsoft Word

Ctrl + Down arrow and Ctrl + Up arrow to jump to next and previous paragraphs respectively.

Uses of Ctrl Key in Microsoft Word

Ctrl + End and Ctrl + Home to jump to beginning and end of the document respectively.

Uses of Ctrl Key in Microsoft Word

8. Convert Number to Words

To convert a number into equivalent words, Select the number and press Ctrl + F9. A pair of curly brackets ‘{}’ will be added around the number.

Type in = (equal) before the number and \*cardtext after the number. Right-click on the number and select Update Field and the number will be converted to words.

Convert Number to Words in Microsoft Word

This works for whole numbers up to 999,999, and writes them in the international style (thousand, million), not lakh and crore.

9. Find the SUM of Values in Tables

To find the Sum or other aggregations for a column in a table, select the bottom-most cell in that column > go to the Layout tab > click on Formula

Find the SUM of Values in Tables in Microsoft Word

The dialog called Formula is activated and assuming that we are looking for the sum, Word is suggesting the formula =SUM(ABOVE). But if you want to change the aggregation use the drop down menu under the label Paste function and choose the corresponding function.

Find the SUM of Values in Tables in Microsoft Word

Once you have selected the required function, click OK to confirm it and we will have the aggregation in the selected cell.

Find the SUM of Values in Tables in Microsoft Word

10. Format Painter

Double-Click on the Format Painter to apply a particular formatting to multiple portions of a document.

Format Painter in Microsoft Word

Once you are finished with applying formatting, press the Esc key to get out of this mode.

11. AutoCorrect

Frequently used words or sentences can be assigned to short keys using the AutoCorrect option in Word.

For example, I need to assign a shortcut to the sentence ‘Greetings from XL n CAD’.

Select the sentence > go to the File tab > Options > select Proofing from the left side bar > AutoCorrect Options… The selected sentence will be displayed in the AutoCorrect dialog.

AutoCorrect in Microsoft Word

In the input box called Replace, type in the character combination (shortcut) which will be replaced by the selected sentence. Here I have used the characters ‘$Gr’. Click OK to confirm.

AutoCorrect in Microsoft Word

Now when I type in ‘$Gr’ and press the Enter key or Space bar, the characters will be replaced by the sentence ‘Greetings from XL n CAD’.

AutoCorrect in Microsoft Word

12. Insert Hyperlink

Folders, files, websites and email addresses, etc., can be linked to a word or words of a document using the Hyperlink option in Word.

Ctrl + K is the shortcut for Hyperlink.

To link a folder or file to a word or sentence, select the word/sentence and press Ctrl + K. The dialog called Insert Hyperlink will be activated. Using this dialog, select the file/folder to link.

Insert Hyperlink in Microsoft Word

To open the linked file or folder, holding the Ctrl key, click on the hyperlink.

Insert Hyperlink in Microsoft Word

13. Set Default Font

In new versions of Word the default font is Aptos (Calibri in older versions). Means, whenever you open a new word document, the default font will be Calibri.

To change this default font setting, in the Home tab, click on the Arrow at the bottom right corner of the group called Font.

Set Default Font in Microsoft Word

The dialog called Font will be activated and using this dialog we can define a new Font setting.

In this case I have selected Times New Roman for Font, Italic for Font style, 20 for Font size and Blue for Font color. To make this setting default for all documents > Click on Set As Default

Set Default Font in Microsoft Word

Select the second option, ‘All documents based on the Normal template?’ and Click OK.

Set Default Font in Microsoft Word

The next time when I open a new Word document, the default font setting will be Times New Roman, 20 pt, Italic, Font color: Light Blue

14. Double-click and Triple-click

To select a word, Double Click on it.

To select a paragraph, Triple Click anywhere in that paragraph.

Double-click and Triple-click in Microsoft Word

15. Convert Text to Table

To convert text data that is separated by a specific delimiter (comma, tab, etc.,) into a Table, select the data > go to the Insert tab > Table > Convert Text to Table…

Convert Text to Table in Microsoft Word

Word will automatically detect the delimiter and will suggest the number of Columns and Rows. Modify the number of columns if you want to and click OK

Convert Text to Table in Microsoft Word

The selected data is converted into a Table.

Convert Text to Table in Microsoft Word

Here is a bonus Trick!

To convert data in a Table to normal text, Select the table > Layout > Convert to Text

Convert Text to Table in Microsoft Word

Select the delimiter of your choice. Here I have selected Tabs.

Convert Text to Table in Microsoft Word

The table is converted into normal text separated by tabs.

Convert Text to Table in Microsoft Word

16. Convert to PDF

To save a word document as a PDF file,

go to the File tab > Save As > click on Browse > using the Save As dialog, select the location where you want to save the file > select PDF from the options for Save as type and click on Save.

Convert to PDF in Microsoft Word

The current document will be saved as a PDF file at the specified location.

Shortcut: press F12 and choose PDF as the file type, or use File → Export → Create PDF/XPS.

17. Insert File Path

To insert the File path into the document, click on Customize Quick Access Toolbar > More commands…

Insert File Path in Microsoft Word

In the dialog for Word Options > select All Commands > select Insert File Path from the list of commands > Add > OK

Insert File Path in Microsoft Word

A new button called Insert File Path will be added to the Quick Access Toolbar.

Insert File Path in Microsoft Word

Click on Insert File Path to insert the file path along with the name of the document.

Insert File Path in Microsoft Word

18. Create Random Text

To create random text in a word document, type in the following formula and press the Enter Key

=rand()

Create Random Text in Microsoft Word

5 paragraphs with 3 sentences are created.

If you want to specify the number of paragraphs and sentences, for example, to create 4 paragraphs with 2 sentences each, use the following formula.

=rand(4,2)

Create Random Text in Microsoft Word

For random text in Latin language use the function, lorem()

=lorem(5,3)

Create Random Text in Microsoft Word

19. Insert Screenshot

The Screenshot option in Word enables us to quickly insert the screenshot of active windows into a document.

Go to the Insert tab and click on Screenshot to see the preview of active windows. Click on the corresponding preview to insert the screenshot of it.

Insert Screenshot in Microsoft Word

To extract a particular portion from an active window, use the Screen Clipping option.

20. Clipboard Multi Paste

The Office Clipboard makes it easier to Copy Paste, Text and Graphics in office applications like Word, Excel and PowerPoint. Using this clipboard, we can conveniently paste the copied items multiple times.

To access this Clipboard, click on the arrow at the bottom right corner of the group called Clipboard in the Home tab.

Clipboard Multi Paste in Microsoft Word

Text or Graphics which we copy from documents will be automatically added to the Office Clipboard.

Clipboard Multi Paste in Microsoft Word

To paste a particular item into a position, click on it.

Clipboard Multi Paste in Microsoft Word

Use the Paste All options to paste all items in a single go.

21. Change Orientation

Let me show you how to change the orientation of an individual page in a word document.

Right now the following document is in Portrait mode.

Change Orientation in Microsoft Word

To move the highlighted paragraph (in green color) into a page arranged in Landscape mode

Click on the beginning of the paragraph. Go to the Layout tab > Breaks > Next Page

Change Orientation in Microsoft Word

See, the rest of the document moved into the next page.

Change Orientation in Microsoft Word

Click at the end of the paragraph. Go to Layout tab > Breaks > Next Page

Change Orientation in Microsoft Word

Now that we have the required paragraph in a single page, click anywhere in the page, go to the Layout tab > click on Orientation > select Landscape

Change Orientation in Microsoft Word

Only the selected page containing the highlighted paragraph is in a page arranged in Landscape mode.

Change Orientation in Microsoft Word

22. Calculate

Word has a Calculate option which can be used to find the result of Arithmetic expressions.

To activate this Calculate option, click on Customize Quick Access Toolbar > More commands…

Calculate in Microsoft Word

In the dialog called Word Options > select All Commands > select Calculate from the list of commands > Add > OK

Calculate in Microsoft Word

A new button called Formula will be added to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select the expression and click on Formula to see the result of the expression at the bottom left corner of the Word window.

Calculate in Microsoft Word

23. Insert equation

Word provides different options to create Mathematical equations of our choice.

To insert an Equation, go to the Insert tab > Equation

Some of the commonly used equations will be listed here. Equation for Area of circle, Binomial Theorem, etc., Select an Equation to insert it into the document.

Insert equation in Microsoft Word

To create a new Equation, in the Insert tab > Equation > select Insert New Equation

A new Equation box will be added to the word document. The Structures, Symbols, Conversions and other Tools in the Equation tab can be used to create the equation of our choice.

Insert equation in Microsoft Word

24. Add password

To protect a word document with a password, go to the File tab > Info > Protect Document > Encrypt with Password

Add password in Microsoft Word

Type in the password and click OK.

Add password in Microsoft Word

Once again type in the password and click OK to confirm it.

Add password in Microsoft Word

The protect document option displays a new message, ‘A password is required to open this document.’

Add password in Microsoft Word

Save and Close the document. The next time when you try to open the document you will need to enter the correct password to access the document.

To remove the password, Go to the File tab > Info > Protect Document > Encrypt with Password > delete the existing password > click OK and Save the document.

25. Text to Speech

Word can read your text aloud.

To access this feature, Click on Customize Quick Access Toolbar > More commands…

Text to Speech in Microsoft Word

In the dialog for Word Options > Select All Commands > Select Speak from the list of commands > Add > OK

Text to Speech in Microsoft Word

The option Speak Selected Text will be added to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select the sentence and click on Speak Selected Text for Word to start reading the text.

Text to Speech in Microsoft Word

Read Aloud option in Word also can be used for the same result. Type in Read in the search bar and select Read Aloud from the suggestions to activate this option.

Text to Speech in Microsoft Word

Quicker: Review → Read Aloud, or Ctrl + Alt + Space.

Related

Last updated · Written by Ajay Anand, Microsoft Excel MVP